Judicial Branch

The Citizen Potawatomi Nation Tribal Court system is designed to provide enforcement of tribal laws, equal justice to all and protection of tribal sovereignty.

The court initially functioned as the Court of Indian Offences for western Oklahoma beginning in 1978 and became the CPN Tribal Court in 1985. Its caseload has expanded consistently each year to meet the needs of tribal members, tribal employees, other Native Americans and non-Indian litigants.

The Citizen Potawatomi Nation Tribal Court is comprised of three district court judges, seven supreme court justices and two prosecutors. All judges and justices are law trained and are recognized as accomplished, well qualified and experienced individuals.

In the summer of 2016, the CPN Supreme Court marked a new milestone. For the first time ever, all sitting justices were members of the Citizen Potawatomi Nation. The Hownikan spoke to each justice about their background and motivation in joining the tribe’s highest judicial office. Their responses have been lightly edited for clarity.

More Information

The District Court is in session during the week and is available to respond to emergency situations. The Supreme Court is called into session when necessary and upon the filing of an appeal.

The Citizen Potawatomi Nation Tribal Court handles civil, criminal, Indian Child Welfare matters and juvenile matters. The Court provides forms to assist pro se petitions for many civil actions, such as divorce and guardianship and issues marriage licenses.

A fee schedule for all filings is available from the Court Clerk’s Office.

Justices of the Supreme Court

Angela Renee Riley

Chief Justice

Robert Coulter

Associate Justice

Robert Coffey

Associate Justice

Roy Tucker

Associate Justice

Nick Jones

Associate Justice

Jennifer Lamirand

Associate Justice

Jane Braugh

Associate Justice

Judges of the District Court

Philip D. Lujan

Chief District Judge

Roger Wiley

Associate District Judge

William R. Davis

Associate District Judge