The Citizen Potawatomi Nation Tribal court is designed to provide enforcement of tribal laws, equal justice to all and protection of tribal sovereignty. The court initially functioned as the Court of Indian Offences for western Oklahoma beginning in 1978 and became the CPN Tribal Court in 1985. The court has been expanding its caseload consistently each year to meet the needs of tribal members, tribal employees, other Native Americans and non-Indian litigants.

The Citizen Potawatomi Nation Tribal Court is comprised of a three member District Court judges, seven member Supreme Court Justices and two prosecutors. All Judges and Justices are law trained and are recognized as accomplished, well qualified and experienced individuals.

Justices of the Supreme Court, Angela Renee Riley, Chief Justice, Robert Coulter, Associate Justice, Robert Coffey, Associate Justice, James G. White, Associate Justice, Jane Braugh, Associate Justice, G. William Rice, Associate Justice, Glenn Dale Carter, Associate Justice, Judges of the District Court, Philip D. Lujan, Chief District Judge, Roger Wiley, Associate District Judge, William R. Davis, Associate District Judge

More Information

The District Court is in session during the week and is avaliable to respond to emergency situations. The Supreme Court is called into session when necessary and upon the filing of an appeal.

The Citizen Potawatomi Nation Tribal Court handles civil, criminal, Indian Child Welfare matters and juvenile matters. The Court provides forms to assist pro se petitions for many civil actions, such as divorce and guardianships and issues marriage licenses.

Court prosecutors are also available to offer general technical legal assistance to Tribal members. These questions may be in regard to child custody, divorce and guardianships. Participants must call the court clerk and complete an intake request before a prosecutor can address their questions. Prosecutors will only offer legal advice and will not provide representation in court.

A fee schedule for all filings is available from the Court Clerk’s Office.

Justices of the Supreme Court

Angela Renee Riley
Chief Justice

Robert Coulter
Associate Justice

Robert Coffey
Associate Justice

Roy Tucker
Associate Justice

Nick Jones
Associate Justice

Jennifer Lamirand
Associate Justice

Associate Justice

Judges of the District Court

Philip D. Lujan
Chief District Judge

Roger Wiley
Associate District Judge

William R. Davis
Associate District Judge

Contact Information

1601 S. Gordon Cooper Dr.
Shawnee, OK 74801

Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m
Closed for lunch from noon to 1pm

Court Clerk: (405) 878-4844

Follow Us On

Contact Us

© 2010-2016 Citizen Potawatomi Nation