The Citizen Potawatomi are Algonquian-speaking people who originally occupied the Great Lakes region of the United States. Originally, the Potawatomi were part of the Three Fires Council made up of the Potawatomi, Ojibwe, and Odawa, collectively known as Anishnabek peoples. By the end of the 18th century, tribal villages were being displaced by white settlements, ultimately ushering in the American treaty era. Through a series of treaties, beginning in 1789, their tribal estate equating to more than eighty-nine million acres was gradually reduced in size. The federal government continued to reduce Potawatomi land holding by removing them to smaller reserves in Iowa, Missouri, and finally Kansas in 1846. In 1861, the Potawatomi in Kansas was officially divided by way of treaty. The treaty required its signers to surrender their tribal membership and adopt U.S. citizenship, in-turn creating the foundation for the Citizen Potawatomi Nation. It was a decision that forever shaped the culture and lives of our people and subsequently led to their eventual migration to Indian Territory [Oklahoma].

Today, the Citizen Potawatomi Nation is 1 of 39 federally recognized Native American tribes with headquarters in the state of Oklahoma. The CPN is a thriving nation that is actively working to retain its culture while being a frontrunner in Native American business. Below are links to more in-depth information regarding our history and culture.